"British" refers to that which concerns the large island of Great Britain. The sovereign state of the United Kingdom is made up of several nations such as: the "kingdoms" of Scotland, Northern Ireland, and England; the principality of Wales; and various other entities such as the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands. Actually, this is a nice British Constitutional question; is the United Kingdom under one crown, or are there separate kingdoms, all vested in one person (unified crown, [cite]; multiple kingdoms, [cite])?